Coffee Staining Nylon Tulle

I found the fabric I wanted for my veil, but it did not come in ivory to match my dress. It’s a soft, finely netted tulle. Because I did not want to compromise on fabric, I decided to dye the tulle.

I mixed equal parts of brewed coffee and water, and heated them on the stove. I did not let the mixture get too warm, because I did not want to ruin the tulle as heat could. I placed my fabric in the pot, and stirred it around for six minutes. I determined this time by dyeing a small cut of the tulle beforehand.

Don’t worry, it’s going to look dark.


I removed it promptly from the dye, and rinsed it out in the sink. I laid it out to dry.


And once it was dried, it was done and ready to work with!

Leave a Reply

